Hand-held low-speed

film_scan270
Norah (larger)

My next roll was my hand-held, low light roll. ISO was held at 400 for this roll, but I wanted to see if shooting at f/2.8 and 1/30th was going to work out. Norah’s picture above was (if memory serves me) f/2.8 at 1/30th.

Let’s start by discussing what I think went well in this picture:

  1. Clarity
    I’ve very happy with the overall clarity of the picture. I’m quite enjoying medium format.
  2. The eyes.
    I’m also happy with the reflection in her eyes. I’m very happy to report that the reflection was quite intentional and I moved around to get it. Now, you can scoff and think to yourself “well, duh” but I’ll tell you that it’s not easy for me to remember all the little details when shooting.
  3. Blur isolation
    I also like the blur of the lens that the aperture provided. Granted, I chose the aperture for exposure reasons, but nonetheless, I’m still happy with the isolation it provides.

Things that could have gone better:

  1. Dust, dust, dust.
    Dust spots are still a major problem. I spent a considerable amount of time in Lightroom removing dust. I’m working on it, but I’m still not sure where it’s all coming from and how to mitigate it effectively. Aaargh!
  2. Overall composition.
    It’s not bad, but it is just a grab shot. While nothing to be ashamed about, I’d still like to strive for better.

film_scan261
Stella on fire (larger)

Of course she’s not really on fire. I just think the rim lighting of the sun makes her hair look like fire. I don’t remember what speed I was shooting here, so I don’t know if this qualifies for my “hand-held low-speed” shooting or not. Still like the picture though….

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Excellent shots!

  2. So you went with the C330. Great choice. TLRs are awesome, especially the C330 (which I’ve thought about getting for a while now). I’ve been saving up, so I might have one soon, too. 🙂

      • Nick
      • November 6th, 2009

      Overall I’m pretty happy with it. It’s heavy as all get out though. Not as discreet as my K1000, but you were right about the negatives: detail rich. Now about that 180mm lens….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

