SoFoBoMo — Done!

I made it! I’m done with SoFoBoMo.

You can find my e-book here. If you take a moment to look at it, I’d appreciate any constructive criticism.

As this is my first project like this, it’s probably worthwhile to start a “lessons learned” list.

So, my lessons learned

  1. While my “general” idea of shadows was okay, I might have done a mid-way review to make sure that I was going to have cohesive material. This would also allow me to re-evaluate my theme and see if I’ve narrowed it by my shooting, or if I need to narrow it.
  2. If I’m going to print the pictures, I should do so right away and not wait for the final week. I’m sure this seems obvious to someone with lots of darkroom experience but for me, it was a lesson learned.
  3. Although I was warned about this, I still should have left more time for the layout work. I used Aperture’s book capability. It is okay. It’s really limited in fairly arbitrary ways though. So I should have been a bit more prepared with either trial runs or a backup plan.

A big hiccup (that I’d read about in passing) was the file size limit on the upload. Aperture wrote out a 36 Mbyte PDF. I could not find a way to work around this limitation within Aperture, though it’s probably an OSX limitation. My solution was to use the “Save PDF as TIFF” option. This saved all pages as individual TIFF files. Then I used Photoshop to create a “PDF Presentation” with the TIFF files created. Using a “High” value on the JPEG compression resulted in a PDF of only 6 Mbyte or so.

Anyhow, it’s done and so am I.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

  1. CONGRAULATIONS on a job well done.

    • Bruce Crawford
    • June 8th, 2009

    Hi Nick,

    You can reduce the size of PDFs produced in OSX using the ColorSync Utility in the Utilities folder in Applications. Just load the pdf you want to reduce and then use the Reduce File Size option.

    Cheers,

    Bruce

      • Nick
      • June 8th, 2009

      Just tried it out, and it worked like a charm. Thanks for the tip. If only I’d known yesterday….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

